Surroundings

Dunedin” is Gaelic for “Edinburgh” and the city lives up to its name; old Scottish churches and buildings are interspersed throughout the downtown area.

Building a railway station? Make it as architecturally beautiful as possible.

Strolling down George Street you might hear a redheaded busker playing Marvin Gaye’s Let’s Get It On (prompting you to begin walking in a more groovy fashion) or get honked at by teenage boys who obviously feel very confident in their speedy vehicles. Some worthy stores that you might want to check out: K-mart (I never really thought I’d be the person to promote K-mart, but place has $3 bathmats and broke college flatting students need practical schtuff like that. Side note: most products here cost an even number – e.g. $10 instead of $9.99 – but you may find the occasional _.99 object in which case you should not expect change. Don’t stand there pitifully waiting for your penny. It’s not coming.), Rob Roy’s (a small convenient store that happens to conveniently carry the best ice cream in town. New Zealand ice cream is especially creamy – they take their dairy seriously – and you can purchase a “one scoop” “learner” for $1.80 which is not only the cheapest thing I have yet to see in New Zealand, but is also actually composed of 2 giant scoops that any normally sized stomach will have trouble accommodating), Angus café and dessert (wifi comes with your purchase so the store is a comfortable place to chill with your computer), Paasha (my favorite restaurant so far – it has exquisite Turkish food and fantastic service. The also have paper table clothes that you can draw on. Our waiter must have seen us longingly eying the crayons at a neighboring children’s table because he brought out some coloring instruments for us. I was almost disappointed when my food came because I had to pause in the middle of my Kiwi bird drawing. The restaurant was also reasonably priced; meals here can easily cost upwards of $30, but I ordered some quality kebab for $17. Also, you might find that you are being served by a waiter who bears a faint resemblance to David Tennant, in which case you should naturally be sure to order your gritty Turkish coffee in your most sultry voice. Actually, try the apple tea instead. It’s better.).

 

University of Otago – home of the Scarfies

IMG_3086

IMG_3095

St. Margaret's College

St. Margaret’s College

I actually go to Hogwarts

I actually go to Hogwarts

 

Horseback riding is for sissies

Horseback riding is for sissies

Yes, there are stone lions on the street. Also, a lot dead bees (should I be worried about this?). Also also, a lot of seagulls. So, you know how people will absentmindedly kick rocks and seed pods whilst walking? Well, there was this seagull standing in front of me, looking very round and fluffy, and, well, I mean I wasn’t really thinking… let’s just say that little situation didn’t end so well.

I witnessed the last weakened steps of this poor honey-gatherer

I witnessed the last weakened steps of this poor honey-gatherer

I love discovering new things about myself. Apparently I’ve got a thing for clocktowers.

Whitman College

Whitman College

University of Otago

University of Otago

IMG_3098

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in New Zealand, Photography, Study Abroad, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

